Album Review: My Bloody Valentine, MBV

My Bloody Valentine

My Bloody Valentine are an alternative rock band formed in Dublin, Ireland in 1983. The band’s lineup has consisted since 1987 of founding members Kevin Shields(guitar and vocals) and Colm Ó Cíosóig (drums) with singer-guitarist Bilinda Butcherand bassist Debbie Googe.

As My Bloody Valentine’s music evolved, their use of distortionpitch bending, anddigital reverb resulted in a sound that came to be known as shoegazing. The group’s seminal 1991 album Loveless, which took nearly two years to make and nearly bankrupted their record label Creation Records, received extensive critical acclaim and remains iconic. Following Loveless, My Bloody Valentine became inactive, with Shields rumoured to have recorded – and shelved – several albums’ worth of songs. In mid-2007, Shields announced that the band had reunited and were working on new material. The band subsequently toured across Europe and the U.S. The band’s third album, MBV, was announced and released on 2 February 2013 via their website, which subsequently crashed.

There was a significant period in my life where the prospect of listening to a brand new My Bloody Valentine LP for the first time was as far fetched as riding a hover board or owning a self drying jacket; but here I am, penning a quick review after my first listen to MBV, the band’s first album in 21 years – released at midnight via their official website, temporarily crashing it.

Fangirl Preamble

I feel it’s necessary at this juncture to state ‘members interest’, I’m a massive Valentines fan, yup so much so I call them ‘The Valentines’. Despite being naught but a bairn in their heyday I found them in my teens and rarely a week goes by where a track from Loveless isn’t spun in on my iPod or HiFi (yes, I genuinely still own a HiFi).

Before the review, I confess It’s tricky for me to feel like I can write a true album review from a bunch of MP3s, albeit legally obtained from My Bloody Valentine’s official website in the wee small hours; I’m much more of a full package, uncompressed format kind of girl, especially when it comes to work by this seminal and notoriously perfectionist band. As lovely as the cover art looks on my laptop screen, I look forward to viewing it properly and without the digital strobing when the album arrives with me on gatefold vinyl & CD.

MBV © My Bloody Valentine

Having listened through just once, it’s as good as I’d hoped, dream-like vocals, shoegazey sounds, occasional baggy-esque drum beats -My Bloody Valentine by numbers, no bad thing.

More comprehensive reviews here: http://bit.ly/XBXBse

For those who don’t know, these are the Band’s upcoming tour dates:

My Bloody Valentine 2013 Tour Dates

  • 03/02/2013 Korea /Seoul – AX hall
  • 05/02/2013 Japan/Osaka – Hatch
  • 06/02/2013 Japan/Osaka – Hatch
  • 07/02/2013 Japan/Tokyo – Studio Coast
  • 08/02/2013 Japan/Tokyo – Studio Coast
  • 10/02/2013 Japan/Tokyo – Studio Coast
  • 13/02/2013 Taiwan/Taipei – Taida Gym
  • 16/02/2013 Australia/Melbourne – ATP Festival
  • 18/02/2013 Australia/Sydney – Enmore
  • 20/02/2013 Australia/Brisbane – Tivoli
  • 22/02/2013 Australia/Melbourne – Palace Teatre
  • 08/03/2013 UK/Birmingham – Academy
  • 09/03/2013 UK/Glasgow, Scotland – Barrowlands
  • 10/03/2013 UK/Manchester – Apollo
  • 12/03/2013 UK/London – Hammersmith Apollo
  • 13/03/2013 UK/London – Hammersmith Apollo
  • 11/05/2013 Japan/Tokyo – Tokyo Rocks Festival
  • 25/05/2013 Spain/Barcelona – Primavera Sound Festival

The tracks from the Album were also put onto You Tube by the band.
Here they are in track order:

 

 

source: cultureburn.net

