_grohl

David Eric “Dave” Grohl (born January 14, 1969) is an American rock musicianmulti-instrumentalist, and singer-songwriter, who is the lead vocalistguitarist, primary songwriter and founder of the Foo Fighters. Prior to this, he was the drummer for the grunge band Nirvana. He is also the drummer and co-founder of the rock supergroup Them Crooked Vultures. Grohl has additionally written all the music and performed all the instruments for his short-lived side projects Late! and Probot, as well as being involved with Queens of the Stone Age numerous times throughout the past decade. He has performed session work (as a drummer) for a variety of musicians, including GarbageKilling JokeNine Inch NailsDavid BowiePaul McCartneyThe ProdigySlashIggy PopJuliette LewisTenacious DTom Petty and the Heartbreakers, and Lemmy, and the latest with Sir Paul McCartney.

Grohl arguably is the most busiest musician today. Not to mention Jack White and Mike Patton. Grohl is directing a documentary about Sound City Studios, the Van Nuys studio where Nevermind was recorded that shut down its music operations in 2011.  He also directs the new Soundgarden music video, By Crooked Steps.

To celebrate his birthday, here we present our Top Ten Foo Fighters Songs.

10. AURORA (There Is Nothing Left To Lose, 1999)
“‘Aurora’ is definitely one of my favourite songs that we’ve ever come up with. Lyrically, it’s just kind of a big question mark, but the words sound good and it’s a nostagic look back at Seattle and the life I once had. That song actually questions the meaning of life, probably. It’s probably the
heaviest thing I’ve ever written.”

9. AIN’T IT THE LIFE (There Is Nothing Left To Lose, 1999)
“That’s what happens when you listen to too much mellow 70’s gold Fleetwood Mac type stuff while recording. Ain’t it the’ life sounds like an Eagles song or something, and I hate The Eagles. It’s about living the quiet, peaceful Virginia life.”

8. TIMES LIKE THESE (One By One, 2002)
“This is sort of a mid-tempo number with a really weird chording that’s kinda reminiscent of Mission Of Burma or Television or kind of a jangly post-punk New York new wave theme guitar line. I think actually that this is the best song I’ve ever written – it’s very emotive and passionate and universal.”

7. NO WAY BACK (In Your Honour, 2005)
“I love that song and the record company wanted it be the first single, but to me it sounded too much like a Foo Fighters song. That song’s kind of our signature sound and I was afraid that if we were to release that
right off the bat then it was too safe and predictable.”
“‘No Way Back’ is another song that I wrote right off the John Kerry campaign trail. It has a lot to do with feeling controlled by a government that you didn’t elect. We got a lot of questions when we first released the
record because everybody thought the title was dedicated to John Kerry, and it was influenced by that, but it wasn’t dedicated to John Kerry. But I kind of denied a lot of the political overtones because I didn’t want to
step on Green Day’s toes or have people think we were a political band and I didn’t want us to turn into Rage Against The Machine. By leaving my perspective out of things it made it so general that other people decide their interpretation.”

6. STRANGER THINGS HAVE HAPPENED (Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, 2007)
“I spend a lot of time in silence. I spend a lot of time alone in hotel rooms; I really don’t do a hell of a lot on the road. I’ve been touring for a long time and hotel rooms all begin to look the same after a while. This is
a product of just sitting around and doing fuck all for weeks on end.”

5. HOME (Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, 2007)
“I wrote this at home on the piano, then Taylor and I recorded a demo of it. I sat and wrote the lyrics in about 10 minutes, sang it once, listened to it, and just felt overwhelmed by how revealing it was. It made me feel quite vulnerable, so much so that it’s hard to listen to. I get really choked up thinking about all the time I spend away from the things that are important to me. It’s tough being away on tour; it’s even tough
just to be talking about how much I wish I was with my family. It’s the kind of song I can’t imagine singing live because it’s going to be too much.”
4. HEY, JOHNNY PARK (The Colour And The Shape, 1997)
“Oh, my God, that song’s about 15 different things! The only reason why it’s called ‘Hey, Johnny Park!’ is because when I was young, my best friend was this kid who lived across
the street from me called Johnny Park and we were like brothers from the age of 5 to 12. I haven’t heard from him since I was about 14 years old and I thought if I named a song after him he might call.”

3. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN (Wasting Light, 2011)
“When I first wrote that, I was sitting in my bedroom, and I had someone else in mind when I was singing it. But then as I elaborated on it I thought,there are definitely connections. I’ve definitely felt that way before, especially with Kurt, where, you know, I was afraid this was going to happen. So to have Krist come down and play on that song was kind of a risky move. I explained to him, I said:
“Yeah, you know, it’s one of those songs that I’m sure people are going to think it’s about Kurt.” And he basically said: “Oh, fuck it. That’s okay.”

2. EVERLONG (The Colour And The Shape, 1997)
“The first time I’ve ever played that new wave drum beat and it was fun!”

1. FEBRUARY STARS (The Colour And The Shape, 1997)
“Just a song about hanging on by the tips of your fingers and hoping you don’t slip and fall.”

–words taken from many sources by @agunsux. top ten songs compiled by @unclebowl, words from many sources. image taken from weheartit.com

