Scott Ian‘s Christmas EP!

_ScottIan

Scott Ian Rosenfeld (born December 31, 1963), known by the stage name Scott Ian, is an American musician, best known as the rhythm guitarist for the thrash metal band,Anthrax. Ian is the guitarist and a founding member of the crossover thrash bandStormtroopers of Death. He has hosted The Rock Show on VH1 and has appeared on VH1’s I Love the… series, Heavy: The Story of Metal and Supergroup (TV series). Ian is also the rhythm guitarist for the metal band The Damned Things.

Anthrax are no strangers to a duet, having worked with Public Enemy on Bring The Noise in 1991 – but who would guitarist Scott Ian choose to team up with on a special Christmas EP?

K! sat down to hear Scott’s favourite Xmas numbers and the person he’d team up with on his own unique versions!

If this doesn’t get you in the festive spirit, make sure you pick up our special Kerristmas double issue – there’s 80 star-packed pages, on sale now. Click here for more information about what you can find spilling out of the issue!

Now, over to you, Scott…

BABY IT’S COLD OUTSIDE
“Now this is a Christmas song! Of course, it would be a little weird to have me and Dean Martin singing this back and forth to each other, so I’m gonna say I’ll do it with Bonnie Raitt. I don’t think people would expect me to like her but she’s the sickest guitar player and a great singer, and we’d do a proper faithful version of it, because personally I think covers should be played as they are and not screwed around with. You can throw it on and curl up by the fire with Scott and Bonnie on Christmas Eve.”



JINGLE BELLS

“I think I have to do at least one classic Christmas song, and Brian Setzer Orchestra did a great record of Christmas song covers and I would definitely like to jam with them on this one. I’d be down for just strapping on a guitar, getting up on stage with them and just bashing it out. I’m a big fan of bebop jazz guitar playing in general, and I think I could just about handle this one.”

WHOLE LOTTA ROSIE
“I have to have at least one non-Christmassy curveball that has an outside chance of getting to number one like Rage Against The Machine, so Whole Lotta Rosie it is. There’ll be Bon Scott on vocals, Dimebag Darrell on guitar, Cliff Burton on bass and I should probably go with a drummer who’s actually alive in case I have to fight off the zombies mid-song, but I’m going to go with John Bonham. I think the fact we resurrected four people from the dead is reason enough to get to number one – and the song’s about a big fat hooker, and everybody wants that around Christmas! (laughs)”

 

–words from kerrang magazine. image from loudwire.com

 

